Autor Thema: AOM Record can't find the default sound device  (Gelesen 13147 mal)

Offline tccieslak

  • *
  • Beiträge: 19
AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« am: März 17, 2010, 17:26:21 »
Hi Thomas.
I'm running Windows 7 64 bit and have tried to use AOM Record but it can't find the default sound device.  I have a Creative Labs Soundblaster X-FI sound card installed and the only sound device that shows up is the Optical input channel which is not attached to anything.  The pull down menu does not show the Default Sound Device so AOM Record states it does not detect any sound.

I have another program called Total Record from High Criterial which is quite similar to AOM Record in that it can record anything that comes across the sound card.  I has a similar feature that allows you to select the sound device and it lists the Default Sound Device/Speakers as a device as well as the same Optical Input that AOM Record lists in the pull down menu.  So I can record fine with Total Record because it does detect the sound on the sound card.


Any ideas on why AOM Record does not see the Default Sound Device/Speakers like the Total Record program does?  I really miss not being able to use AOM Record on my new system.

Offline Thomas

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 1.303
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #1 am: März 22, 2010, 18:48:05 »
Hi Terrance,

Sorry for the delay. I'm currently not very often in the office. In fact I have no idea why it doesn't find the correct device to record from. Maybe there is none. What are the available devices in your system and which are listed by AOMrecord?

Thomas

P.S. Please use a real name when posting.
« Letzte Änderung: März 22, 2010, 18:51:07 von Thomas »
Bitte beachten Sie das Urheberrecht und verstoßen Sie nicht gegen von Ihnen akzeptierte Geschäftsbedingungen.
Please don't violate copyright laws and observe the terms that you agreed to.

Offline tccieslak

  • *
  • Beiträge: 19
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #2 am: März 22, 2010, 20:09:11 »
Hi Thomas:
The only audia device that shows up is the optional Optical input device on the sound card and a driver that gets installed with the other sound recording software I have Total Recorder but that is for a microphone and I've tried deinstalling the Total Recorder software so there is only the Optical device shown.  See attached screenshot.  There is nothing attached to the Optical input so there will be no sound on it.  I don't understand why the Default Speakers or Default Sound Device doesn't show up as an option.  On the Total Recorder software, it shows the Default Sound Device as well as the Optical interface but for some reason AOMRecord only sees the Optical interface.  I have checked to make sure the Speakers are selected as the Default Sound Device.  I'm really at a loss.  Could this be happening because this is 64 bit Windows 7?

Also, I uninstalled AOMRecord 2.4.616 and downloaded version 2.5 but after I install it, it still says its version 2.4.616, not even 2.4.619 or 2.5.  If I click on Check for Updates, I get a message box stating the function is not available at this time to try later.  I tried everything and I keep ending up with 2.4.616 no matter what.

I really like using AOMRecord but I'm really stuck trying to get it to work since I moved to Windows 7 64 bit and this new sound card.

I'm not sure what you meant by using my real name in thepostings.  Are you saying you want me to create a new ID with my real name of Terrance?

Thanks for your help as always.
Terrance

Offline Thomas

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 1.303
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #3 am: März 22, 2010, 22:59:35 »
Hi Terrance,

I think I know what the problem is. Total Recorder has its own driver (a virtual audio cable) to create an input for recording which can only be used with their software. They do this because some sound card drivers don't have a common recording input. Most of the time these inputs are named like "Stereomix, Stereomixer, Wave/MIDI/CD, Wave/MP3 or What you hear". If your sound card's driver doesn't have an input like this you could look for another that supports this card and has one of these inputs or you'd have to connect one of the sound cards' outputs with an input (see into the help for this). If there is no input available you could use a virtual audio cable (please look in the www for what this is). There is more about this problem in AOMrecord's help. I'm currently thinking of implementing a virtual audio cable into AOMrecord, too. I still have to investigate about this.

I'll have a look at the 2.5 problem as soon as I come back from m y travel. But this may take a while.

No, of course I don't ask you to create a new ID. I just had to look up your name because you didn't sign your message with a name and I didn't remember it. I hat addressing someone like "dear unknown" or something else ;).

You're welcome!
Thomas
Bitte beachten Sie das Urheberrecht und verstoßen Sie nicht gegen von Ihnen akzeptierte Geschäftsbedingungen.
Please don't violate copyright laws and observe the terms that you agreed to.

Offline Thomas

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 1.303
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #4 am: März 23, 2010, 14:42:52 »
Hello Terrance,

Another idea, why the automatic update might not work: Add AOMrecord.com and/or AOMrecord.de to the list of trusted websites (in the MS IE settings). Please let me know whether this helps.

Thomas
Bitte beachten Sie das Urheberrecht und verstoßen Sie nicht gegen von Ihnen akzeptierte Geschäftsbedingungen.
Please don't violate copyright laws and observe the terms that you agreed to.

Offline tccieslak

  • *
  • Beiträge: 19
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #5 am: November 30, 2010, 03:00:16 »
Hi Thomas:
I still h ave not had any luck making AOMRecord work with my sound card.  I saw your posting to Orville regarding VAC software and I downloaded it and tried it but I could not get it to work.  The one test I did get to work, the volume kept getting higher and higher and AOMRecord never received any pauses or anything just solid 100% audio all the time.  VAC is a complex product and I read the help file but it didn't do me much good, it would be nice if they had some examples.  I'm about ready to buy a new soundcard, is there anyway to insure a soundcard will work with AOMRecord that would be stated on the box the soundcard comes in so I could be sure it would work before buying it?  I really miss being able to use your software and would consider the purchase a small investment to be able to use your software again.
Terrance (tccieslak)

Offline Thomas

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 1.303
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #6 am: November 30, 2010, 11:21:11 »
Hi Terrance,

This is not an easy to answer question. But I'll try. I do have very good experience with the sound cards from Creative (Sound Blaster etc.). Currently I use an external card connected to an USB port (Creative Sound Blaster MP3+). This is pretty old, but works very well. And the drivers for all OS from XP to Windows 7 do have the Wave/MIDI/CD input for recording. Sometimes you can get this pretty inexpensive at eBay.

I also found out that in some cases there are older drivers for built in sound cards, that provide an appropriate input even with Windows 7 and Vista. Maybe I can give you a hint if you let me know what sound card you are currently using.

HTH
Best regards
Thomas
Bitte beachten Sie das Urheberrecht und verstoßen Sie nicht gegen von Ihnen akzeptierte Geschäftsbedingungen.
Please don't violate copyright laws and observe the terms that you agreed to.

Offline tccieslak

  • *
  • Beiträge: 19
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #7 am: November 30, 2010, 18:54:50 »
Hi Thomas:
Thanks for the quick response.  I am using a Creative Labs Soundblaster X-FI Extreme sound card.  I had sent an email to Creative Labs and they said that this board did not support "What you hear" support which is what I assume is missing to make it work with your software.  I'm going to give the VAC software another shot, maybe read more detail on the background of how it works.  That might give me more insight into what has to be done.  I'm not a sound board/sound software expert so this is a little frustrating to say the least.  I have seen the USB type of external sound cards.  I am using Windows 7 64 bit so I don't think that will be a problem.

If you have any further thoughts please let me know.
Terrance (tccieslak)

Offline tccieslak

  • *
  • Beiträge: 19
Re: AOM Record can't find the default sound device
« Antwort #8 am: November 30, 2010, 21:17:08 »
Hi Thomas:
Good news, I tried using VAC again and finally figured out how to make it work, amazing what a little reading will do.  So I got things working with the exiting sound card and have purchased VAC.  I also upgraded to the latest version of AOMRecord but now my registration data is invalid.  I am also running on a new PC and using Win 7 instead of XP.  I followed the direction in the forum for requesting a new key so hopefully I'll get that soon to make the periodic beeping go away.

Anyway, thanks for your help and responses.  I still think your product is one of the best on the market, I have not seen anything that can compete with it and really enjoy using it, when I can get it to work of course.
Terrance (tccieslak)